Iris vs CircadianShield Pricing (2026): Every Plan Compared
Last updated: October 1, 2026. Iris prices were read from the iristech.co buy page, Iris Pro buy page, subscription page, licensing page and buying agreement on October 1, 2026. CircadianShield prices come from the CircadianShield download page and terms of service on the same day.
You have narrowed it down to Iris or CircadianShield and the deciding question is money: what each one costs, what you pay again later, and how many computers the licence covers. This page is written by CircadianShield, which sells one of the two apps, so read it as CircadianShield's own pricing comparison rather than a neutral review. Every Iris figure links to the Iris page it came from, and the features themselves stay on the separate CircadianShield vs Iris feature comparison.
Quick answer: Iris vs CircadianShield pricing
- Iris has several one-time options. Iris Pro is $14.99 without new versions or $49.99 with future updates (Iris Pro buy page). Iris mini Pro is $9.99 without new versions (Iris buy page). Each covers 1 device at a time. Iris subscriptions run $1.99 a month or $11.99 a year for 1 PC, or $3.99 a month for up to 5 PCs (Iris subscription page).
- CircadianShield has fixed one-time prices. CircadianShield Core is $27 and CircadianShield Pro is $47, each covering up to 2 computers across Mac and Windows, with no subscription (CircadianShield download page).
- The answer can flip with a second computer or a few years. Two Iris Pro licences cost $29.98, more than CircadianShield Core, while two Iris mini Pro licences cost $19.98, less than CircadianShield Core. The Iris $1.99 monthly plan passes CircadianShield Pro's one-time price in month 24.
- Updates change the price comparison. Iris's $14.99 Pro and $9.99 mini Pro licences exclude new versions. Its $49.99 Iris Pro licence includes future updates, as does CircadianShield Pro at $47.
Iris vs CircadianShield pricing table: every plan side by side
This table lists every paid plan Iris and CircadianShield sell today, with the payment type, the device limit and whether new versions are included. The Iris rows were read from the Iris buy page, the Iris Pro buy page and the Iris subscription page on October 1, 2026. The CircadianShield rows come from the CircadianShield download page and CircadianShield brand facts.
| Plan | Price | How you pay | Computers | New versions |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Iris mini | Free | Nothing | Not stated | Not stated |
| Iris mini Pro | $9.99 | One-time | 1 device at a time | Not included, minor builds and bug fixes only |
| Iris Pro | $14.99 | One-time | 1 device at a time | Not included, minor builds and bug fixes only |
| Iris Pro Lifelong | $49.99 | One-time | 1 device at a time | Future updates included |
| Iris Subscription, 1 PC monthly | $1.99 a month | Recurring | 1 device at a time | Included while you pay |
| Iris Subscription, 1 PC yearly | $11.99 a year | Recurring | 1 device at a time | Included while you pay |
| Iris Subscription, 5 PCs monthly | $3.99 a month | Recurring | Up to 5 devices | Included while you pay |
| CircadianShield Core | $27 | One-time | Up to 2 computers, Mac and Windows | Upgrade to Pro in the app for $20 |
| CircadianShield Pro | $47 | One-time | Up to 2 computers, Mac and Windows | Free updates |
Each Iris subscription activates both Iris and Iris mini, according to the Iris subscription page. Every Iris licence can be moved to a new machine. Iris's own pages disagree on one small number: the Iris mini page says Iris mini Pro costs $8, while the buy page charges $9.99, so the table uses the buy page price. A CircadianShield licence works on Mac and Windows under the same key, and a Core owner who upgrades later pays $27 plus $20, the same total as buying CircadianShield Pro outright.
What Iris and CircadianShield cost over 1 to 4 years
Sticker price hides the real comparison, because Iris sells subscriptions and per-device licences while CircadianShield sells one payment for two computers. The table below multiplies the Iris prices from iristech.co/buy, iristech.co/buy-iris and iristech.co/buy-subscription out over time, against the one-time CircadianShield prices on the CircadianShield download page. It assumes prices stay where they are today.
| Plan | 1 computer, year 1 | 1 computer, 4 years | 2 computers, 4 years |
|---|---|---|---|
| Iris mini Pro, one-time | $9.99 | $9.99, no new versions | $19.98, two licences |
| Iris Pro, one-time | $14.99 | $14.99, no new versions | $29.98, two licences |
| Iris Pro Lifelong, one-time with updates | $49.99 | $49.99 | $99.98, two licences |
| Iris Subscription, 1 PC yearly | $11.99 | $47.96 | $95.92, two subscriptions |
| Iris Subscription, 1 PC monthly | $23.88 | $95.52 | $191.04, two subscriptions |
| Iris Subscription, 5 PCs monthly | $47.88 | $191.52 | $191.52 |
| CircadianShield Core, one-time | $27 | $27 | $27 |
| CircadianShield Pro, one-time | $47 | $47 | $47 |
The crossover points, worked from those same prices: the Iris $1.99 monthly plan costs $25.87 after 13 months and $27.86 after 14, so it passes CircadianShield Core in month 14. It costs $45.77 after 23 months and $47.76 after 24, so it passes CircadianShield Pro in month 24. The Iris $11.99 yearly plan passes CircadianShield Core in year 3 ($35.97) and CircadianShield Pro in year 4 ($47.96). On two computers, two Iris Pro licences at $29.98 already cost more than one CircadianShield Core licence.
Is Iris cheaper than CircadianShield?
Yes, if you have one computer and you are happy to stay on the Iris version you buy. Iris Pro at $14.99 one-time costs less than either CircadianShield plan, and Iris mini Pro at $9.99 is cheaper still for the smaller app (Iris buy page). The Iris Pro Lifelong plan with future updates costs $49.99, compared with $47 for CircadianShield Pro.
For two computers, compare the specific Iris plan. CircadianShield Core and Pro each cover up to 2 computers for one payment. Iris mini stays free, and two $9.99 Iris mini Pro licences cost $19.98, less than $27 for CircadianShield Core. Two $14.99 Iris Pro licences cost $29.98 against $27 for CircadianShield Core. Two $49.99 Iris Pro Lifelong licences cost $99.98 against $47 for CircadianShield Pro. The Iris 5 PC subscription covers both computers for $3.99 a month. One-PC Iris subscriptions pass the CircadianShield Pro price within two to four years, as the cost table above shows.
What "lifelong without updates" means for Iris pricing
The $14.99 Iris Pro and $9.99 Iris mini Pro licences are sold as "lifelong without updates". The Iris licensing page spells it out: you can use the version you bought forever and you get minor builds and bug fixes, but when there is a new version and you want it, you need to pay again. The separate $49.99 Iris Pro Lifelong plan includes future updates with a one-time payment. Iris subscriptions also include future versions, but stop working at the end of the paid period if you cancel.
There is a practical twist that cuts the other way. The newest dated entry in the Iris changelog on iristech.co is Iris 1.2.2 for Windows, published November 30, 2022, and the Iris download page offers Iris 1.2.2 for macOS. With no newer dated release listed, a subscription buys access to future versions that have not appeared in almost four years, which makes the $14.99 one-time Iris Pro licence the better Iris deal for most buyers today. The flip side is that nothing in that history suggests a future macOS or Windows fix is coming for either plan. CircadianShield Pro at $47 includes free updates, per CircadianShield brand facts, and CircadianShield ships new versions on Mac and Windows.
Free versions, trials and refunds: Iris vs CircadianShield
Iris has a free tier and CircadianShield does not. Iris mini is free, and the Iris homepage offers to "Try Iris Free" for 7 days, or for a month if an existing Iris user invited you (iristech.co). On refunds, the Iris buying agreement says the refund period is "something like 30 days after purchase", and that PayPal buyer protection limits refunds to 180 days. Iris takes payment through PayPal or 2Checkout, and the licensing page says cryptocurrency is possible but handled by hand.
CircadianShield Core and CircadianShield Pro both have a 7-day free trial on Mac and Windows. A card is required and you pay $0 for 7 days. Cancel before day 8 and you are not charged, and the trial key stops working, so you do not keep a licensed copy. If you do not cancel, you are charged once, $27 for Core or $47 for Pro, and that key becomes a lifetime licence. Nothing recurs, according to the CircadianShield terms of service, which also say payments run through Stripe. You can skip the trial and pay now at the CircadianShield Pro checkout or the CircadianShield Core checkout.
What each Iris and CircadianShield price actually buys
Price only means something next to what the plan does, so here is the short version for Iris and CircadianShield, with the full feature breakdown left to the head-to-head Iris and CircadianShield review.
- Iris, any paid plan. The Iris homepage describes brightness control without PWM, automatic presets that match screen brightness to the room, gradual blue light regulation across day and night, and 9 preset types that combine with automatic, manual and paused modes (iristech.co). The Iris product page offers downloads for Windows, macOS and Linux.
- CircadianShield Core, $27 one-time. PWM software dimming with the hardware kept at 100%, screen warmth and launch at login, on Mac and Windows (CircadianShield download page).
- CircadianShield Pro, $47 one-time. Everything in Core, plus the 11-phase solar schedule, Comfort Studio, the health dashboard and light debt tracking, eye breaks, per-display profiles and keyboard shortcuts. CircadianShield Pro also shows a live melanopic EDI readout calibrated to CIE S 026, a readout the Iris homepage does not list (CircadianShield brand facts).
CircadianShield runs filtering and health scoring entirely on your computer, and no screen content or personal data leaves it. The CircadianShield app sends optional anonymous usage and technical diagnostics, which you can switch off in Settings. If you want f.lux priced in as a third option, CircadianShield also has a three-way f.lux, Iris and CircadianShield breakdown, and every other matchup sits on the CircadianShield comparison hub.
Iris and CircadianShield pricing trade-offs the sales pages skip
Each vendor's pricing page shows its best side. These are the catches on both sides, each one taken from the pages already cited above.
- Iris counts devices, not people. Iris one-time licences and the 1 PC subscriptions are valid on 1 device at a time (Iris Pro buy page). The 5 PC plan at $3.99 a month covers several machines under one subscription.
- The cheaper Iris Pro licence excludes new versions. Iris Pro at $14.99 gets minor builds and bug fixes, but a new version costs again, per the Iris licensing page. The $49.99 Iris Pro Lifelong plan includes future updates.
- Iris subscriptions keep billing. At $1.99 a month the Iris plan never stops costing you, and after 24 months it has cost more than CircadianShield Pro.
- CircadianShield costs more than basic Iris Pro on day one. CircadianShield Core at $27 costs more than the $14.99 Iris Pro licence without new versions, and CircadianShield has no free tier or monthly option for someone who only wants a month.
- The CircadianShield trial needs a card. You enter a card to start the 7-day trial and must cancel before day 8 to avoid the one-time charge (CircadianShield terms). The Iris homepage offers its 7-day trial without mentioning a card.
- CircadianShield only runs on Mac and Windows. CircadianShield needs macOS 14 or later or Windows 10 or later. The Iris product page offers a Linux download, so on Linux, Iris is the only one of the two you can buy.
- CircadianShield Core skips the solar schedule. If the 11-phase schedule is why you are looking at CircadianShield, budget for Pro, or for the $20 in-app upgrade later.
Iris or CircadianShield: which plan fits your budget
Use this table to match your situation to the cheapest Iris or CircadianShield plan that covers it, using the prices from iristech.co and the CircadianShield download page listed above.
| Your situation | Cheapest fit | Why |
|---|---|---|
| One computer, smallest possible spend | Iris mini, free | Basic warmth and brightness controls at no cost (Iris mini product page) |
| One computer, want the full Iris app with a one-time payment | Iris Pro, $14.99 | One payment, 1 device, no new versions included |
| Two computers, PWM-free dimming and warmth | Iris mini, free | Iris mini offers warmth and brightness control without PWM at no cost (Iris mini product page). For more settings, two Iris mini Pro licences cost $19.98, against $27 for CircadianShield Core on both computers |
| A Mac and a Windows PC under one licence | CircadianShield Core or Pro | One CircadianShield key covers up to 2 computers across both |
| You want new versions without paying again | CircadianShield Pro, $47 | Free updates for two computers; Iris also offers future updates for one device at $49.99 one-time, $11.99 a year or $1.99 a month |
| Three to five computers | Iris 5 PC subscription, $3.99 a month | CircadianShield covers 2 computers per licence |
| Linux | Iris | CircadianShield runs on macOS 14+ and Windows 10+ only |
Iris vs CircadianShield pricing FAQ
Is Iris cheaper than CircadianShield?
For one computer, the $14.99 Iris Pro and $9.99 Iris mini Pro licences cost less than CircadianShield Core at $27. For two computers, two Iris mini Pro licences cost $19.98 and two standard Iris Pro licences cost $29.98. CircadianShield Core covers two computers for $27. Iris Pro Lifelong with future updates costs $49.99 per device.
How much does Iris cost in 2026?
As of October 1, 2026, iristech.co lists Iris mini as free, Iris mini Pro at $9.99 one-time, Iris Pro at $14.99 one-time without future updates or $49.99 one-time with future updates, and Iris subscriptions at $1.99 a month or $11.99 a year for 1 PC, or $3.99 a month for up to 5 PCs.
How much does CircadianShield cost?
CircadianShield Core is $27 one-time and CircadianShield Pro is $47 one-time, each for up to 2 computers on Mac and Windows. Core owners can upgrade to Pro in the app for $20 later. There is no subscription and no free tier, and both plans have a 7-day free trial with a card required.
Is Iris a subscription or a one-time purchase?
Iris sells both. Iris Pro at $14.99 and Iris mini Pro at $9.99 are one-time payments that exclude new program versions. Iris also sells a $49.99 one-time Iris Pro plan with future updates. The subscriptions, $1.99 a month or $11.99 a year for 1 PC and $3.99 a month for 5 PCs, include future versions while active.
Does CircadianShield have a subscription?
No. CircadianShield Core and CircadianShield Pro are one-time payments. If you start the 7-day trial and do not cancel before day 8, you are charged once and the key becomes a lifetime licence. Nothing recurs, according to the CircadianShield terms of service.
Can I use one Iris or CircadianShield licence on two computers?
Not with Iris, unless you buy the 5 PC subscription. Every other Iris licence is valid on 1 device at a time, though you can move it to a new machine. A CircadianShield Core or Pro licence covers up to 2 computers, and the same key works on Mac and Windows.
Is there a free trial for Iris or CircadianShield?
Both have one. The Iris homepage offers to try Iris free for 7 days, and Iris mini is free with no time limit. CircadianShield Core and Pro have a 7-day free trial on Mac and Windows with a card required. Cancel before day 8 and you are not charged, and the trial key stops working.
Does Iris give refunds?
The Iris buying agreement says Iris refunds unhappy buyers and puts the refund period at "something like 30 days after purchase", with PayPal buyer protection limiting refunds to 180 days. CircadianShield uses its 7-day free trial as the evaluation period instead, so you can cancel before day 8 without being charged.
Is CircadianShield worth the extra money over Iris?
It depends on how many computers you have and what you need. For one computer and basic warmth and dimming, Iris mini is free. Iris Pro costs $14.99 if you want the full Iris app. Iris also offers a $49.99 one-time Pro plan with future updates. CircadianShield Pro at $47 covers two computers and adds the 11-phase solar schedule, health dashboard and live melanopic EDI readout that the Iris homepage does not list.
Key takeaways on Iris vs CircadianShield pricing
- Iris Pro is $14.99 one-time and Iris mini Pro is $9.99 one-time, both without new versions and valid on 1 device at a time (iristech.co, October 1, 2026).
- Iris Pro Lifelong is $49.99 one-time with future updates for 1 device at a time.
- Iris subscriptions cost $1.99 a month or $11.99 a year for 1 PC, or $3.99 a month for 5 PCs, and include new versions while you pay.
- CircadianShield Core is $27 and CircadianShield Pro is $47, each paid once for up to 2 computers on Mac and Windows, with free updates on Pro.
- The $14.99 Iris Pro licence costs less for one computer. CircadianShield Core costs less than two such Iris licences, and the Iris monthly plan passes CircadianShield Pro in month 24.
- Iris has a free tier in Iris mini. CircadianShield has a 7-day trial that needs a card and charges once if you do not cancel before day 8.